Boating Laws Change on July 1, 2010; TNCC Class Helps Personal Watercraft Operators and Boaters Comply
Published: February 12, 2010
Boating laws have changed. Effective July 1, 2010, personal watercraft operators under 35 years of age must complete a boating safety course. Thomas Nelson Community College Workforce Development now offers a boating safety course for boaters 13 years and older. The class meets the new education compliance requirements.
In 2007, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a law establishing a boating safety education compliance requirement. Personal Watercraft operators 20 years old and younger were required to meet this requirement as of July 1, 2009. Requirements will be phased in over the next several years and by 2016, all operators of PWCs (Personal Watercraft such as jet skis, Sea Doos, Wave Runners) and operators of Motorboats with a 10 hp or greater motor, will be required to have a boating safety education course completion card on board when operating a PWC or Motorboat.
TNCC Boating Classes:
Boating Safety. Learn how to safely operate your boat on Virginia waterways, how to send a Mayday, and how to understand navigation rules and buoys. This class covers boating terminology and legal requirements. Cost: $15, plus an additional fee of $25 is to be paid to the instructor at the beginning of class for student materials.
Additional courses offered include:
- How to Use A Nautical Chart
- Using Marine GPS
|Category: General News||Tags: boating, certification, law, training|