Rory Block to Headline the Hampton Acoustic Blues Revival at Thomas Nelson Community College

Published: April 7, 2007

Saturday, 07 April 2007 The Seventh Annual Hampton Acoustic Blues Revival, hosted by the Natchel Blues Network, will be presented at the Mary T. Christian Auditorium on the Hampton campus of Thomas Nelson Community College from 4:00 -9:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 21. The festival features performances by “Living Legend” and two-time Blues Music Award Winner, Rory Block, with a workshop, “Wild Women Get the Blues” by W. C. Handy award winner, Gaye Adegbalola of Saffire-The Uppity Blues Women. Blues Committee will open the festival. The festival, which is free and open to the public, is made possible with support from the Hampton Arts Commission and the Thomas Nelson Community College Cultural Affairs Committee.

Rory Block

Heralded as “a living landmark” (Berkeley Express), “a national treasure” (Guitar Extra), and “one of the greatest living acoustic blues artists” (Blues Revue), Rory Block has committed her life and her career to preserving the Delta blues tradition and bringing it to life for 21st century audiences around the world. A traditionalist and an innovator at the same time, she wields a fiery and haunting guitar and vocal style that redefines the boundaries of acoustic blues and folk.

New York Times declared: “Her playing is perfect, her singing otherworldly as she wrestles with ghosts, shadows and legends.” Block brought home W.C. Handy Awards four years in a row – two for Traditional Blues Female Artist of the Year, and two for Best Acoustic Blues Album of the Year. Her 2006 recording, The Lady and Mr. Johnson, is on Rycodisc. In the liner notes, Richard Johnson (great grandson of Robert Johnson) says, “Rory Block should have a Doctorate in my grandfather’s music.” She has two Blues Music Award (formerly W.C. Handy Award) nominations again this year for Acoustic Artist of the Year and Acoustic Album of the Year.

Gaye Adegbalola

Gaye Adegbalola has been singing and playing guitar and harmonica with Saffire – The Uppity Blues Women since the popular acoustic blues group’s inception in 1984. Together they have recorded seven CDs for Alligator Records, and have toured widely throughout the U.S. and abroad, receiving international acclaim. In 1990 Ms. Adegbalola received the prestigious Blues Music Award (formerly known as the W.C. Handy Award) for her song Middle Aged Blues Boogie.

Now through her latest album, Neo-Classic Blues with Roddy Barnes, Adegbalola embraces and redefines the classic style of the great blues divas of the 1920s and 30s – those often fiercely independent “wild women” who were unashamed to lay their souls bare and unafraid to give advice. Adegbalola and accompanist Roddy Barnes conjure up another era and deliver a dynamic cabaret-style performance that is both educational and entertaining.

Blues Committee

The Blues Committee is an acoustic blues trio comprised of Shelly Craig-Potter on dobro, guitar and vocals, Dale Butcher on upright bass and Bruce Kincaid on harmonica, guitar and vocals. A performance by The Blues Committee includes traditional Delta and Piedmont style songs through current blues artists such as Eric Clapton and Bonnie Raitt with a smattering of swing and ragtime thrown in just for fun.

Kincaid honed his talent fronting the popular classic rock group, “Relic.” There he developed his tasteful and energetic style. Butcher is a talented multi-instrumentalist that has been a mainstay over the last 12 years in many blues groups such as “Black Rose Blues Band,” “Sunnyland Blues Band” and the Cajun fused “Louisiana Mudbugs.” Craig-Potter has been on the Tidewater music scene for over 30 years performing in many different stylized roots. She is currently in a successful children’s musical duo “C.Shells” and has recorded 4 multi-award winning CDs. Shelly learned her blues finger style guitar playing from mentors like Roy Bookbinder, and Paul Geremia.

For information please contact Shar Wolff, Department Head of the Photography Department at Thomas Nelson Community College and Chair of the College’s Cultural Affairs Committee at 825-2775.

News Releases @ TNCCFor Immediate Release
For more information please contact the Office of Public Relations (757) 825-2725

Category: Events, The Arts Tags: , , , ,
Print Page