Virginia’s Community Colleges Announce reengineering taskforce

Published: November 11, 2009

Virginia’s Community Colleges are announcing the creation of a reengineering task force to optimize the way community colleges operate. The announcement comes as the commonwealth’s community colleges are managing both unprecedented enrollment growth and state funding reductions.

“When it comes to costs for both the students and the taxpayers, our community colleges already provide the most efficient service of all Virginia’s higher education sector,” said Glenn DuBois, chancellor of Virginia’s Community Colleges. “However, there is a need for our community colleges to do more, to serve more businesses, to serve more students and to produce more graduates for Virginia’s economy. Ensuring that our operations are lean, modern, technology savvy and properly focused is essential to meeting that need.”

The panel will be chaired by Robert G. Templin, president of Northern Virginia Community College. Jack M. Lewis, the president of New River Community College, will serve as the co-chair of the taskforce.

The taskforce is being charged to, “Seek new ways of doing our work, to become smarter in our investments of people and talent and technology, to better leverage our combined size and resources, to restructure our work patterns and habits, and to break down barriers to change and improvement, without making changes to our fundamental governance and organizational structure.”

The work of the taskforce is expected to be finished by November 2010. However, recommendations that surface from the committees work could be implemented before then.

Taskforce members include:

  • Robert G. Templin, president, Northern Virginia Community College (chair)
  • Jack M. Lewis, president, New River Community College (co-chair)
  • Cindy Bambara, vice president of student success, Lord Fairfax Community College
  • Kim Blosser, dean, division of mathematics, physical sciences & technology, Blue Ridge Community College
  • Ty Corbin, coordinator of academic services, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
  • Crystal Creggar, vice president of finance & administrative services, Wytheville Community College
  • Beverly Davenport, manager of computing services, Paul D. Camp Community College
  • James Davis, director of technology administration services, System Office
  • Mark Estepp, president, Southwest Virginia Community College
  • Craig Herndon, special assistant to the chancellor, System Office
  • Sherri Huffman, director of institutional planning, research & effectiveness, Danville Community College
  • Phyllis F. Milloy, vice president for finance, Tidewater Community College
  • Valerie Palamountain, dean of workforce services, Piedmont Virginia Community College
  • Karen J. Petersen, executive vice chancellor, System Office
  • Linda K. Thomas-Glover, president, Eastern Shore Community College
  • Kevin Witter, director of facilities, planning & development, Virginia Western Community College
  • Susan Wood, vice chancellor for academic services and research, System Office
  • Patrick Tompkins, associate professor of English, CFAC chair, John Tyler Community College

The work of the taskforce is expected to complement what Virginia’s Community Colleges will do to meet the goals of the next VCCS strategic plan, Achieve 2015. The plan, which has been assembled over the past 18 months, will be considered for adoption by the State Board for Community Colleges during their regularly scheduled meeting on Thursday, November 12, 2009.

About Virginia’s Community Colleges: Created more than 40 years ago, the Virginia Community College System (VCCS) is comprised of 23 community colleges located on 40 campuses across the commonwealth. Together, Virginia’s Community Colleges serve more than a quarter-million credit students each year. For more information, please visit

Category: General News Tags:
Print Page