College Board Elects Officers, Welcomes New Member | Thomas Nelson Community College

College Board Elects Officers, Welcomes New Member

October 17, 2019


Pictured left to right: Michael Kuhns, College Board Chair;  Dr. Vince Warren, College Board Vice Chair; and new member Dr. Donna Woods.

The Thomas Nelson Community College Board recently elected Michael Kuhns as chair and Dr. Vince Warren as vice chair. The Board also welcomed new member, Dr. Donna Woods, during its Sept. 25 meeting. 

Consisting of 14 members from six localities in the College’s service area, the Board acts as a liaison for the College President, the Virginia State Board for Community Colleges and the community.

Kuhns is a former Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms senior special agent and a retired Virginia Peninsula Chamber of Commerce president and CEO. A U.S. Army veteran, he also has a background in strategic planning, marketing and tourism, and completed a two-year stint as vice chair of Thomas Nelson's Board.

“Thomas Nelson has a highly qualified faculty and staff, and a local College Board diverse in experience, talent, and a deep willingness to serve Thomas Nelson and the localities they represent,” he stated. “I am honored and excited to have been chosen as the 2019-20 Board Chair. Moving into our second half-century, we must evolve and adapt to fulfill our multiple missions while meeting the challenges we face in our ever-changing environment.”

Warren is the manager of Operations Integration at Newport News Shipbuilding, where he has worked since 1984. He also has been an apprentice craft instructor, general foreman, manager of product training, manager of strategic projects and manager of craft training.

He graduated from the Apprentice School and earned a bachelor’s degree in occupational and technical studies (industrial technology) from Old Dominion University, a master’s degree in education and human development from George Washington University and a doctoral degree in education from Liberty University.

Warren is a lifelong Hampton resident and has served on multiple advisory boards, including New Horizons Regional Education Centers, Greater Peninsula Governor’s STEM Academy and Old Dominion University’s Lean Institute. He also serves as vice chair of the Greater Peninsula Workforce Board and has been a Thomas Nelson Board member since 2017.

"My desire to serve on the Thomas Nelson Community College Local Board, first as a board member and now as vice chair, stems from being a proud graduate of TNCC and passionate about the incredible value postsecondary education and training can provide," he said. "For more than 50 years, TNCC has provided that value to many people across the Peninsula. I consider it an honor and privilege to serve on TNCC’s Local Board."

Woods is a consultant with Ford Next Generation Learning. She also has served as a teacher, counselor, vocational evaluator, teacher specialist, assistant principal, high school principal and executive director of school leadership in Hampton City Schools.

She completed her doctoral studies in educational leadership and policy studies at Virginia Tech, holds an Ed.S. in educational leadership from George Washington University, a master’s in counseling from Ohio State University, and a bachelor’s in special education from VCU.

“My interest in joining the Board is to serve as an advocate for the vital role that Thomas Nelson Community College plays as a pipeline supporting lifelong learning through academic and technical disciplines for regional economic and workforce growth,” she said. “By continually examining and envisioning the role of our community college through policy analysis and development, we can expand pipelines for young people to have dual enrollment opportunities, to earn stackable credentials and degrees, as well as serve as the ‘one-stop’ that provides upskilling and reskilling of the workforce that our future-ready region demands.”

Thomas Nelson Board members are appointed to four-year terms. After serving two consecutive four-year terms, they are ineligible for reappointment for two years.