Nurse Pinning Ceremony Honored Success | Thomas Nelson Community College

Nurse Pinning Ceremony Honored Success

December 13, 2018

Thomas Nelson Community College acknowledged student success during a Pinning Ceremony for the Nursing Program’s Historic Triangle campus class of 2018.

Family and friends along with Nursing faculty and staff joined students for the Dec. 8 event at The Mount Peninsula in Yorktown. 

Also on hand for the celebration, Thomas Nelson leaders including President John Dever, Vice President for Student Affairs Susan English and Interim Health Professions Dean Paul Long each gave congratulatory remarks. 

Guest speaker Shaheem Abrahams, a Thomas Nelson associate professor of biology, addressed the class of 22 students with an inspirational message. He shared pleasant anecdotes and personal stories having taught many in the group.

Symbolizing a commitment to nursing, the pinning ceremony marks a new chapter in the students' personal and professional lives. During the Dec. 8 proceedings, students recited the Nightingale Pledge which is named for Florence Nightingale, a pioneer in the field. The pledge is an oath to faithfully practice nursing, aid the physician and remain devoted to patients' welfare.

Lisa Draper, chair of Nursing at the Historic Triangle campus, noted that this is the College’s 11th Nursing class out of Williamsburg. She is excited to see what the future holds for this year’s class.  

“We hope our students go on to be safe, caring, compassionate and competent nurses,” said Draper. 

Participants in the ceremony will take the NCLEX licensing exam with testing and related fees paid courtesy of the Thomas Nelson Educational Foundation. The students are also eligible to participate in Thomas Nelson’s 50th commencement exercises scheduled in May.    

NURSING STUDENTS PINNED: Kellie Blackwelder, Brielyn Brown, Alicia Briggs, Missy Chong, Todd Ellick, Kimberly Hegeman, Jennifer Helton, Michelle Herbst, Brittany Hillesheim, Meagan Hounshell, Pasche Jones, Rosa Kim, Laila Lewis, Rita Magbag, Marshall Manipol, Ronslynn Murdock, Caitlin Piephoff, Daisy Slobozien, Tiffany Stansberry, Maran Tenorio, Jennifer Wiant and Heather Zsoldos

NURSING FACULTY & STAFF: Lisa Draper, program chair (Williamsburg); Mary Kathryn Howard, program chair (Hampton); Assistant Professors Crystal Clark, Karen Lynch, Sirena Sears, Susan Stainback, Dorothy Wentworth and Marilou Wilder; and Assistants Kristin May and Cassandra McDowell