Performing Arts Faculty | Thomas Nelson Community College

Performing Arts Faculty

Sandra Calderon

  • MA – Speech Communication (Performance Studies), Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  • BA – Theatre Arts (Double: Performance/Design Technology, Minor: Anthropology), State University of New York New Paltz
  • Diploma in Theatre Arts, Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon
  • Courses: Public Speaking, Interpersonal Communication, Acting 1, Acting 2
  • CalderonS@tncc.edu

Diane Drury

  • BM – Organ Performance, Westminster Choir College
  • MM – Organ Performance, Westminster Choir College
  • Courses: Music Appreciation, Class Piano, Applied Piano
  • DruryD@tncc.edu

Dr. Todd Holcomb

  • BM – Guitar Performance, Shenandoah Conservatory of Shenandoah University
  • MM – Guitar Performance/Pedagogy, Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University
  • DMA - Guitar Performance, Shenandoah Conservatory 
  • Artist Diploma – Guitar Performance, Columbus State University
  • Courses: Applied Guitar
  • email address HolcombW@tncc.edu

Kwisuk P. McDonald

  • BM – Music Education, Kangweon National University
  • MM/MA – Music Composition, Chung-Ang University
  • MA – Concentration in Music Composition, Pacific Lutheran University
  • Courses: Music Appreciation, Basic Musicianship, Music Theory I
  • McDonaldK@tncc.edu

Ellen Fisher Petko

  • BM – Vocal Performance, Christopher Newport University
  • MM – Vocal Performance, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • Courses: Applied Voice
  • PetkoE@tncc.edu

Dr. Lori Shipley

  • BA - Music, Pennsylvania State University
  • MA - Humanities and Music, California State University
  • MA - Holocaust and Genocide Studies
  • DMA - Music Education, Boston University
  • Courses: Applied Flute
  • shipleyl@tncc.edu

Samantha Spena

  • BM –Music Performance: Violin, Ithica College School of Music
  • MM – Music Performance: Violin, DePaul University School of Music
  • Courses: Applied Violin
  • spenas@tncc.edu

Dr. Michael Sundblad, Department Chair

  • BA – Music, North Central College
  • MM – Orchestral Conducting, Illinois State University
  • DMA – Music Education, Boston University  
  • Courses: Music Appreciation, Basic Musicianship, Choral Ensemble, Musical Theatre Productions
  • SundbladM@tncc.edu

Jim Worthey, Manager of the Dr. Mary T. Christian Auditorium